Wedding Dress Wednesday: Chance discoveries

After I found a skirt I wanted to recreate, I had to start thinking about the style of bodice I wanted. As I mentioned before, I really wanted shoulder straps. I feel in love with the idea of a low-cut back – the problem being, of course, that I had no idea how to make one. Obviously I could’ve tried to taking a regular dress pattern and removing a piece from the back, but I was worried that would just end in the whole thing falling apart!

Instead, I went hunting for patterns, and eventually found this one:

 

I looked online and found a version where the stitcher had added pleats at the shoulder to give a more sweetheart effect to the neckline (do you think I have been able to find it again? Of course not!). I wasn’t sure whether I would need to add a panel to the waist, but I figured it would all work out once I started sewing.

But everything was soon to change! On a quest to figure out more about the skirt, I asked advice from a work colleague who has a background in fashion design. She wasn’t sure how it was constructed, but she found a photo of a dress with similar skirt construction, which I noticed came from Drape Drape.

Of course I had to order a copy! It was only afterwards that I stopped and looked at the bodice:

 

It was exactly what I wanted, and made me realise just how much I was settling on the previous pattern. Now I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of my book so I can get started on my mock-up.

4 Comments on “Wedding Dress Wednesday: Chance discoveries”

  1. Becky says:

    Lovely inspiration! And I totally get you on the desire for straps– I knew going into this that I didn’t want strapless either, and ended up with a pattern for the bodice that’s a sweetheart neckline with some gathered cap sleeves. Good luck with this!

  2. Jessica says:

    Thanks Becky! You’re using the Cambie dress for the bodice/neckline, right? I love that neckline – I have a top the looks very similar, and it’s such a flattering style.

  3. Carolyn says:

    Wow!, your dress is going to be absolutely amazing if you are using drape drape for inspiration! I cannot wait to see how you get along. I have just got the book too, and I’m looking forward to getting started on that particular dress as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

