Foodie Friday: Jerk Chicken

The Mister was home for the last couple of weeks, before he started his job this week. He works away a lot, so I really appreciate the time I have with him. One of our favourite things is to cook together. We have completely different cooking styles – I’m more comfortable using a recipe, and love baking, while he prefers to freestyle and is happiest cooking Asian. Fortunately this means we complement each other really well in the kitchen.

I was so excited to try this jerk chicken recipe, after I bought the Jamie Oliver 30 Minute Meals cookbook the other week. It was super easy. First you make a jerk sauce with spring onions, chilli, thyme, sugar, garlic and, of course, rum.

Next you brown off some chicken, then pop it in the oven with the sauce, topped off with sprigs of fresh rosemary.

Steam some corn cobs and fry them off to get a nice charred finish.

Get your lovely fiancé to prepare a salad of endive, cos and red capsicum, dressed with olive oil, lime juice, grated red onion and coriander.

And there you have it, a tasty dish of jerk chicken, best served with beans and rice, and a glass of Spanish white wine.

I’ll be blunt, it’s not the best jerk chicken recipe I’ve made. However, the best recipe I’ve made requires marinating, and I’m usually not that organised – this is a great last minute version.

One Comment on “Foodie Friday: Jerk Chicken”

  1. Shoko says:

    oh my goodness. it was a mistake to read this on an empty stomach. looks so good!


Leave a Reply

