Fabric shopping

No wedding dress updates this week (although I don’t have anything on this weekend, so I’m hoping it will be a different story next week). I spent this past weekend in Sydney with my mum. The original plan had been to find her a mother-of-the-bride outfit (I swear she’s put more thought into it than I have into my wedding dress!). Then she went to Bali and bought some gorgeous sheer embroidered fabric, so the weekend turned into a fabric shopping quest instead.

From Tessuti I bought a gorgeous teal cotton sateen for my bridesmaids dresses.

Why yes, I am crazy enough to decide to make my bridesmaid’s dresses as well as the wedding dress. Fortunately there are only two of them! I had originally thought about making them infinity dresses, but I realised that finding a suitable knit fabric in a colour I liked would be difficult, and the price pretty crazy. So instead I tasked them with finding a pattern they both liked, and they selected Simplicity 2692 (variation B for one, and F for the other).

 

Over at The Fabric Store I picked up a couple of remnants. First was a small piece of linen in a soft, earthy burgundy colour.

I’m thinking of using this as a pair of shorts. I really love the Maritime Shorts from Grainline Studio, but I think I’ll use a pattern I already have in my stash, such as these Burda shorts:

I also scored a larger piece of stretch linen in a lovely soft grey (one day I might grow tired of grey clothing, but I don’t think it’s going to happen any time soon).

I had originally planned to turn this into a skirt, until I stumbled upon the gorgeous Belladone dress from French sewing pattern company Deer and Doe.

 

Lastly, I bought 1.2m of a really pretty border print cotton in yellow. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this – probably a skirt, although I might be able to squeeze a simple little summer dress out of it.

3 Comments on “Fabric shopping”

  1. Carolyn says:

    Some really gorgeous fabrics and colours there 🙂

  2. Becky says:

    Wow, you’re braver than I am– I’m not letting myself do any other sewing aside from the dress! Other than some mending here and there as needed. Good luck with all of this!!


Leave a Reply

