Foodie Friday: Tonjiru

While we were in Sydney last weekend, we visited my favourite bookstore ever: Kinokuniya. A while ago a realised that I didn’t have a single Japanese cookbook on my bookshelves, so I was on the hunt. I eventually settled on Everyday Harumi by Harumi Kurihara.

It was difficult to decide what to make first, but I eventually settled on tonjiru – miso soup with pork and vegetables. I love the taste of miso soup, and it’s great to add to it for a complete meal. The great thing about tonjiru is that you can really add whatever you want. I picked a mini cabbage, heirloom carrots and a baby leek from my garden.

The leek was left to one side, and I chopped up the cabbage and carrot, together with two potatoes. I reconstituted some wakame seaweed, and sliced some pork. Then the cooking was simple, but apparently fascinating to my cat Kaylee.

First I browned the pork. Then I added the vegetables, and covered with dashi stock (in hindsight, it would’ve been better if I hadn’t added the wakame until the very end, as it went a bit slimy). I simmered this until the potato was tender, then stirred through a couple of spoonfuls of red miso paste. Then it was simply a matter of serving it, topped with the sliced leek and a sprinkling of shichimi togarashi (Japanese seven spice).

This was such an easy, satisfying weeknight meal. If you’re looking for a recipe to use up any leftover vegetables you’ve got rattling around in your fridge, this is a great option.

2 Comments on “Foodie Friday: Tonjiru”

  1. Shoko says:

    this looks SO good, and reminds me of home! i need to get that cookbook stat – i don’t eat nearly enough japanese, and it’s my favorite food!

    • Jessica says:

      If you can get it for a good price, I’d recommend it! It was a bit pricey when I got it, and based on the range of recipes probably not worth it. But I like that the recipes are fairly simple, but still authentic – and I don’t have too far to find all the ingredients!


Leave a Reply

