Weekend Round-up: 20 October

Earlier this year I got a free packet of nigella and sprinkled them down one end of our garden bed. I was beginning to think they’d never bloom, but a sudden mass of flowers has appeared. I love going outside and seeing their spindly blue blooms.

One of my most exciting finds this week was the University of Wisconsin’s Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture. It’s packed with scans of public domain books, including the stunning Examples of Chinese Ornament by Owen Jones, which features some amazing designs.

Mary Corbet over at Needle ‘n Thread has a post on the new stranded cottons by Jenny Hart at Sublime Stitching. Some of the colours are really gorgeous, although I think I would find the palettes too limiting.

I succumbed and bought my first copy of &Stitches this week. It’s a great embroidery blog, featuring lots of different styles of stitching (this issue focuses on Scandinavian embroidery). If you’re quick, you might be able to take advantage of the 10% discount code here.

Actually, I’ve spent a lot of time this week looking at Scandinavian embroidery blogs. My favourite would definitely have to be Karin Holmberg’s blog – she does some gorgeous stitching, and features some really interesting crafty stuff – plus each post includes a summary in English, for those of us who aren’t so great with Swedish!

The reason for my fascination with Scandinavian embroidery is that I’ve been playing around with Hallandssöm embroidery after seeing Annekata’s post on it. I’m loving the effect! (Apologies for the blurry Instagram pic)

 

 

2 Comments on “Weekend Round-up: 20 October”

  1. Carolyn says:

    You must have a green thumb to grow nigella so well! I wish I had that skill 🙂
    The bodice for your wedding dress is looking so good… the fit is superb.

    • Jessica says:

      I’m so hit and miss with my growing skills! I seem to have the most success when it’s something I don’t care about – I literally just threw these seeds in the garden bed and didn’t do a thing to them 🙂


Leave a Reply

