Wedding Dress Wednesday: Getting Close

Wednesday_header

 

I really wanted to do some more work on the dress this week, so I convinced the Mister to pin me in (not an experience he enjoyed very much). My guess from last week was correct – it was definitely too big.

fitting01

fitting02

 

Yup, definitely way too baggy. Actually, it wasn’t too bad across the hips, but then the skirt isn’t my priority here. So I decided to go down a size to the size 8. I actually traced out the curvy fit skirt as well, but I didn’t have enough fabric for it, so I just cut out the bodice and attached it to the existing skirt, easing in the excess.

The Mister swallowed his hatred of pinning and secured me in the new dress.

fitting03 fitting04

Obviously it’s still a bit wrinkled in the back, although I’m not sure how much of that is just a pinning issue. There is also a little excess fabric in the centre front panel, and some diagonal wrinkles in the side panels. I’ll have to do a little research to figure out how to address them – I’m not sure where the best spot is to take in the excess.

Well, that’s all until next week. Fingers crossed I’ll have lots more progress to report!

2 Comments on “Wedding Dress Wednesday: Getting Close”

  1. Becky says:

    The front bodice looks pretty close to me! It is harder to tell with the back because of the pins, but it almost looks like the lower back in particular could benefit from taking a big horizontal tuck and removing some of that excess fabric. Good luck with it!

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks for the tip about the horizontal tuck – that definitely pointed me in the right direction! I did a proper fitting with my mum today, and we ended up deciding that the best bet would be to lift the entire waistline. I think that’ll work well with the overall silhouette of the dress, and it has the added bonus of meaning less bodice to embroider!


Leave a Reply

