Wedding (not the) Dress Wednesday: Invitations

Wednesday_header

It’s been a busy week here at Chez Needle & Cloth. Not only have my parents been visiting, but it was the Mister’s last week at home before three weeks away at work. As a result, there has been very little progress on the dress.

I did a fitting with my mum’s help, and we decided the best solution was to raise the entire waistline by 4cm (just over 1.5″). This will give the dress more of an empire line appearance, which I think will be more flattering for my not-so-tall figure. Plus, there’ll be less bodice for me to embroider!

I might try to take the waist up this morning, so that I can do another fitting before my mum leaves this afternoon.

In the meantime, I’ve got something I’d really like to share with you. We had planned to have our wedding invitations made for us. Unfortunately, for reasons that I won’t go into, this fell through in the last few days. We had planned to get our invitations out by the end of the month, so this threw us into a big panic trying to find invitations online that we liked, and wouldn’t cost a small fortune.

After the tenth hour of looking, I idly said, “Why don’t I have a go at designing something?” Bearing in mind I have the graphic design experience of a walrus. But I opened up my copy of InDesign, consulted with the Mister as to the invitation features he liked, and eventually came up with this:

invitations

It still needs a bit of tweaking to make sure things are aligned properly, and I’m not entirely sure about the little ornament thingy, but overall I’m pretty proud of myself. We’re going to add a wine stain to the corner of each invitation, and back them with the red version of this printable wrapping paper from Style Me Pretty, which I’ve just warmed up a bit in Photoshop so that it contains the same warm red tones you see on the invitation.

Now I just have to design matching cards for the directions, registry and RSVP while the Mister is away, so that they can be pretty much ready to send out when he gets home. Hopefully people will like them!

One Comment on “Wedding (not the) Dress Wednesday: Invitations”

  1. Ellaine says:

    That invitation has style! Great job! Love the square shape, font, layout, backing print….yep, I’d be proud of it, too, only I wouldn’t have come up with something that good. “…graphic design experience of a walrus” ? You’re in the know on that, but I’d say you are definitely more talented. And more creative.


Leave a Reply

