Wedding Dress Wednesday: A Different Approach

Wednesday_header

I’ve been doing a lot of research and thinking on my wedding dress this week. I was still trying to get the back to fit, and doing some research on adjustments for “sway back”. What really concerned me was that all the information was saying you should only need to adjust by a centimetre or so, and I needed to do a lot more than that.

The other thought nagging at the back of my mind was, “I don’t want to have to do this every time I sew something” (when I stop and think, I’ve never actually sewn a dress that’s fitted me *well*).

I considered making a sloper, but last time I tried, I ended up with a Picasso-esque construction that bore absolutely no relation to my body.

So yesterday I drove across the city and visited a dressmaker, who is going to make me my very own sloper. I know there will be a bodice, skirt and sleeves. She sketched a pair of pants as well, but I don’t think I’m getting them (it’s something I might consider going back for later).

The great thing is that she’s willing to work with my budget – by making the toile  and tracing the final paper pattern onto cardboard myself, I’m able to save quite a bit, which is good.

I’ll get the first draft in a week, and make up the toile, so hopefully I’ll have the final pattern the week after.

In the meantime, I’ve been playing around with the overskirt. I’ve worked out what I need to do to achieve roughly this effect, albeit without the flounce at the front (which doesn’t worry me):

Julietta Wedding Gown by Leanne Marshall

But then, as I mentioned on Monday, this photo appeared on Pinterest:

eliesaabdress

I love, love, love how luxurious this looks. I wouldn’t have it as long, obviously, as I don’t want a train at all, but I can imagine having two layers of tightly gathered georgette (or maybe one less gathered one underneath with a very gathered one over the top).

Not only do I think this could actually end up looking lovelier, but I also like the fact that it would be more economical, as I could cut the skirt across the grain.

It’s a good thing I was able to get a bargain on 10m of chiffon – I think I’m going to have to make a trial of each to see what I prefer!

I’m heading back to Adelaide this weekend for a kitchen tea my mum and cousin are throwing for me, so things will be a bit quiet here. But hopefully I’ll be back with more news next week!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

